Five Pride events are competing for the right to host Europe’s main LGBTI celebration in 2022.

The organisations are from Barcelona (Spain), Belgrade (Serbia), Dublin (Ireland), Maspalomas (Spain) and Variações & ILGA Portugal (Portugal).

EuroPride 2022 will be the 30th anniversary of the first EuroPride, and the 50th anniversary of the first Pride events in Europe. EuroPride has been hosted in more than twenty cities across Europe, beginning in London in 1992, and this year takes place in Vienna, Austria, from 1st to 16th June. Recent hosts include Riga (2015), Amsterdam (2016), Madrid (2017), and Stockholm and Gothenburg (2018).

Each of the bids will be presented at the annual general meeting of the European Pride Organisers Association (EPOA), taking place in Bilbao, Spain, in September. Every member organisation has one vote.

The result is expected to be announced on Saturday 21st September.